magicJack and MagicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks Forum Index magicJack and MagicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks
magicJack and magicJack Plus Unofficial Technical Support. Your Magic Jack and Magic Jack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Want to use Neoware - Here is all the info w/ software
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    magicJack and MagicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks Forum Index -> Using magicJack on a Thin Client
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
STxFarmer
MagicJack Contributor


Joined: 05 Apr 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 5:25 pm    Post subject: Want to use Neoware - Here is all the info w/ software Reply with quote

All links have been updated to a SugarSnyc account. If you want a great free cloud storage service try SugarSync using my link please:

https://www.sugarsync.com/referral?rf=cea8jm254ck7z&utm_source=txemail&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=referral

If you want a inexpensive way to build your free storage on SugarSync pm me. I have 100gb of free storage and it only cost me $50 with no monthly charges. You build it 10gb at a time so it is a fairly quick process and cost is only $5/10gb.

Neoware units have seemed to be more elusive for people to use due to the methods of getting the software on the units and get them running a MagicJack. Here is almost everything I have for any Neoware Thin Client.

Need to figure out what all those numbers mean? Need to know what memory or dom size I can put in my unit. Here is 1 pdf and 1 text file with info: https://www.sugarsync.com/pf/D7566046_1059717_43502

How do I get a clean image to my Thin Client? Here is the info and files to make a bootable USB drive that you can flash/and or backup an image to your thin client: https://www.sugarsync.com/pf/D7566046_1059717_43515
(new updated version)

Need a clean stock image?

256 mb: https://www.sugarsync.com/pf/D7566046_1059717_43573

512 mb: https://www.sugarsync.com/pf/D7566046_1059717_43583

1 gb: https://www.sugarsync.com/pf/D7566046_1059717_43564

Need an image that has been tweaked for MagicJack?? I have included a list of tweaks done and steps taken to get this tweaked image. Change anything you like to make them better for you application. You need to download the correct one for your thin client.

256 mb: https://www.sugarsync.com/pf/D7566046_1059717_43587

512 mb images:
512MB_v1.5_Tweaked_C50-CA15
https://www.sugarsync.com/pf/D7566046_1059717_43595

512MB_v1.5_Tweaked_E90_V4_-_CA21
https://www.sugarsync.com/pf/D7566046_1059717_43599

512MB_v1.5_Tweaked_E140_V4_-CA22
https://www.sugarsync.com/pf/D7566046_1059717_43506

1 GB images:
1GB_v1.5_Tweaked_E100_-_CA10
https://www.sugarsync.com/pf/D7566046_1059717_43577

1GB_v1.5_Tweaked_E140_V4_-_CA22
https://www.sugarsync.com/pf/D7566046_1059717_43570

Microdisk Images: this came off a 6gb microdrive and has been tweaked for MagicJack.

Original: https://www.sugarsync.com/pf/D7566046_1435145_24551

Updated: https://www.sugarsync.com/pf/D7566046_1435145_24553

Here are 3 additional driver files for Neoware you may or may not need:
USB_2.0_Driver: https://www.sugarsync.com/pf/D7566046_1059717_43512
Video_Driver: https://www.sugarsync.com/pf/D7566046_1059717_43529
Network_Card_Driver: https://www.sugarsync.com/pf/D7566046_1059717_43518

Links to the HP/Neoware sites:
Unit Info:
http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/Document.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&taskId=125&prodSeriesId=3638790&prodTypeId=12454&objectID=c01293565

HP Download page (Choose which client from the list)

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/Product.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&taskId=135&prodTypeId=12454&prodCatId=321960

If you find anything that needs to be corrected please let me know.


Last edited by STxFarmer on Wed Feb 08, 2012 11:10 am; edited 9 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Google
AdSense





PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 5:25 pm    Post subject: Magicjack support, tips, tricks, and hacks

Back to top
allroy1975
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 18 Feb 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dude! you're an effing stud!

Thank you!!!!

Just booted XPE on my Neoware with a 512 image! Oh man! I thought all hope was lost!

THANK YOU!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
allroy1975
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 18 Feb 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not that it's a huge deal, but...

Do you have the default user name and password for these images?

I just used a utility to change it..but ..might be good to know for others. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
STxFarmer
MagicJack Contributor


Joined: 05 Apr 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Standard Neoware user/password is Administrator/Adminstrator.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
donschjr
MagicJack User


Joined: 24 Jan 2010
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a ca10 e100 with 512 flash, which image would I use?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
STxFarmer
MagicJack Contributor


Joined: 05 Apr 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would use the E90 then check to make sure that you don't have any issues in device manager. Make sure and get the USB 2.0 driver and maybe the network driver so you can make sure both of those are updated. Or start out with a clean image and do the list of tweaks that is included with the tweaked images.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
allroy1975
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 18 Feb 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2010 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just wondering if anyone knows anything about the legality of this?

I got my old CE5 Neoware up and running XPe using these images and made my own image. If I want to distribute this to all the Neoware's in my company - if MS audits us, would they be super pissed to find all these old CE devices running XPe?

if it's not legit, anyone know of a way to make it so?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paul777
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 20 Apr 2010
Posts: 168
Location: Toronto, ON

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2010 12:12 am    Post subject: Want to use Neoware - Here is all the info w/ software Reply with quote

what if you don't know what memory is in the machine? I have 2 Capio 620's that don't seem to boot. Is there a file generic enough to boot them ?

thanks,
Paul
_________________
Paul777 in Canada
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
STxFarmer
MagicJack Contributor


Joined: 05 Apr 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2010 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Paul777
To figure out how much memory and dram you have in your units go to this link:

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/Document.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&taskId=125&prodSeriesId=3638790&prodTypeId=12454&objectID=c01293565

You should be able to decode using the part numbers on the unit itself.


Allroy1975
The units themselves came with a license from Neoware for the operating system they were running when purchased. If you went from Linux to XPe MS might not like that but will they really do anything, probably not. But who knows?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paul777
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 20 Apr 2010
Posts: 168
Location: Toronto, ON

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2010 8:09 pm    Post subject: Want to use Neoware - Here is all the info w/ software Reply with quote

Thats a great link thank you !

I'm still stuck though for the OS code. Here are the numbers off the back of the units:

unit 1 - CP4H-CB
unit 2 - CP4H-BB

I get the CP = Capio, and the -CB and -BB as that is DOM/RAM. The 4H has thrown me for a loop.

Does anyone has suggestions on getting the machines booted up? I can live with them with either OS. If the 4H is of no consequence I think I can try to flash to any OS since I know the DOM/RAM but would just like to get them up and running. If original OS is Linux I'll do the Linux flash. If they are WIN XPe I'd be happier. Hope 4H doesn't mean WIN CE.

Thanks again for the link !
_________________
Paul777 in Canada
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
STxFarmer
MagicJack Contributor


Joined: 05 Apr 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2010 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My guess is that they were running Windows CE or Linux, but probably the first.

Don't think you can use XPe due to the flash needing to be at least 256mb and you don't have that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paul777
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 20 Apr 2010
Posts: 168
Location: Toronto, ON

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2010 11:28 pm    Post subject: Want to use Neoware - Here is all the info w/ software Reply with quote

Yes I figured as much. Now selling them in the "items for sale" section. Good deal if you know anyone looking for two units that need flashing of OS and upgrading of DOM/RAM. Smile

Thanks for your help on this. Very much appreciated.

Paul
_________________
Paul777 in Canada
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Paul777
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 20 Apr 2010
Posts: 168
Location: Toronto, ON

PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2010 9:25 pm    Post subject: Want to use Neoware - Here is all the info w/ software Reply with quote

Any suggestions on a Neoware CA5 ? It does have 248MB RAM and XPe. I does load MJ but locks up if calling in. It will not dial out. What image should I go with ? Stock 256 image or is the 248MB RAM not going to cut it ? Code on the back is BE-03-HD. I think the DOM is 192MB if I read the link to the guide above correctly.

Well at least 1 of the 4 units works with MJ. So a slight risk in buying 4 TC's. I can still try to add memory I suppose. Just not talented enough with that. Sad

Maybe I'll advertise them as "great for parts" ! lol....
_________________
Paul777 in Canada
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
xboxuser1
MagicJack User


Joined: 26 Feb 2008
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi group!

Thanks to the author of this thread! only 1 question, I have downloaded the Tweaked version 1.5, for E140 1gb size .... I got a .DD file, anyone can tell me what I have to do to install it on my Neoware thin client????

Thanks in advance!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
STxFarmer
MagicJack Contributor


Joined: 05 Apr 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to follow the instructions in the third paragragh. You prep a USB drive and use that you put the image you want on the Neoware unit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    magicJack and MagicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks Forum Index -> Using magicJack on a Thin Client All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB Turbo Extended Edition © 2013, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.