magicJack and MagicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks Forum Index magicJack and MagicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks
magicJack and magicJack Plus Unofficial Technical Support. Your Magic Jack and Magic Jack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Scheduled restarts
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    magicJack and MagicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks Forum Index -> Using magicJack on a Thin Client
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Diggs
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 14 May 2010
Posts: 268

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 7:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gpsuf wrote:
Hi,

Can somebody help to explain why we should reboot the Thin Client periodically?


Some software and processes have a memory leak that continues to use more memory as time goes on. Windows XPe in itself is very stable but there may be circumstances that cause it to slowly consume more memory as time goes on. You can use Task Manager to check (Ctl-Alt-Del) memory usuage after a week/month and see how your system does. Mine reboots every month and seems to leak about 15-25 MB during that time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Google
AdSense





PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 7:53 am    Post subject: Magicjack support, tips, tricks, and hacks

Back to top
murugan
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 26 May 2011
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

johnvan wrote:
Thanks, I got that working for restarts in the middle of the night twice a week.
One note though, task scheduler wasn't enabled to start automatically so when I tried to test the task it said that task scheduler wasn't running.
In order to get task scheduler running on startup do this:
START > My Computer (Right click and select Manage)
Double click "Services and Applications" then Double click "services"
Scroll down to Task scheduler, right click, select properties and under Startup type select Automatic.
I believe you also need to commit the changes with the green padlock at the bottom.

Thanks for the help on this guys.


Some notes:
01 - You can also start the Task Scheduler from Control Panel -> Admin Tools -> Services -> Task Scheduler
Edit: added 01a - You could also start the Task Scheduler from the cmd prompt: Start -> Run -> control schedtasks
02 - Whichever way you get to Task Scheduler, right clicking it (Properties) and changing the "Run" state to "Automatic" may sometimes fail as the task scheduler has dependencies.
03 - If the Task Scheduler fails to "Start", check its dependencies - click on the Dependencies tab on the top. Task scheduler depends on RPC (sub set DCOM) and Event log (really not necessary) but add them if you want task scheduler to work.
04 - Use PowerOff.exe - a free, slim, far more useful and sophisticated program (can also be made to run as a service) Why run as a service? Because Windows loads all services first. Thanks for the program Jorgen Bosman. PowerOff is a misnomer - it can also reboot, etc.
See http://users.telenet.be/jbosman/poweroff/poweroff.htm

Please remember to "Commit" all changes to EWF after you are done.


Last edited by murugan on Wed Aug 22, 2012 10:47 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
murugan
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 26 May 2011
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 1:45 pm    Post subject: Re: Task Scheduler Reply with quote

VaHam wrote:
I just set up a task in the task scheduler (located in control panel) with the following command:

C:\Windows\system32\shutdown.exe /r /t 01 /f

and the start in: C:\Windows\system32

Then just use the task scheduler to select when the task runs.

The meaning of the / commands are as follows:

/r restart
/t 01 wait 01 seconds before performing the task after it is started
/f force the closing on any open applications


If you are running Service Pack 1, then you don't have a way to add the extra switches to the shutdown.exe command - viz: -r -t 10 -c "comment - max 127 chars".
A work around is to create a shutdown.bat with a simple line with shutdown.exe -r -t 10 -f -c "MJ is rebooting". Point to the shutdown.bat when you are creating a scheduled task.

You could also use PowerOff.exe - a free, slim, far more useful and sophisticated program (can also be made to run as a service) Why run as a service? Because Windows loads all services first. Thanks for the program Jorgen Bosman. PowerOff is a misnomer - it can also reboot, etc.
See http://users.telenet.be/jbosman/poweroff/poweroff.htm

Please remember to "Commit" all changes to EWF after you are done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    magicJack and MagicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks Forum Index -> Using magicJack on a Thin Client All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB Turbo Extended Edition © 2013, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.