magicJack  and magicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks

magicJack and magicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks

magicJack and magicJack Plus Unofficial Technical Support. Your Magic Jack and Magic Jack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
No dial tone.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    magicJack and magicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks -> magicJack Plus Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
easyeasy
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 29 Mar 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Mar 29, 2013 2:10 pm    Post subject: No dial tone.

Dear Sir/Madam: I've purchased the Magic Jack Plus about a month and a half ago. Set it up it on my router worked great for a while. Now I get no dial tone, no number display. I can receive and make calls but I can't hear the person on the other end, they can hear me no problem. On the PC it works great. I've spent 2.5 hours with tech support last night and got nowhere. I'm using a 2Wire 2701Hg-G modem with high speed internet and Panasonic Dect 6.0 cordless phones with 3 wireless handsets. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance and "Happy Easter" to all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Los Angeles jack
MagicJack Expert


Joined: 06 Aug 2012
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Thu Apr 04, 2013 1:28 am    Post subject:

It could be your 2Wire 2701Hg-G modem could be the culprit. You indicated that on the PC it works great. Whatever you do, I wouldn't let tech support access your PC remotely, they will probably do more harm than good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
notdeadyet
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 23 Dec 2009
Posts: 187
Location: Southern Ontario

PostPosted: Thu Apr 04, 2013 9:47 am    Post subject:

check the power adapter for the MJ+....a lot of issues with it Sad free replacements being offered on website if you find you need a new one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fire_Witch
MagicJack Contributor


Joined: 06 Jan 2010
Posts: 50
Location: a little north of Houston, TX

PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 8:47 pm    Post subject:

notdeadyet wrote:
check the power adapter for the MJ+....a lot of issues with it Sad free replacements being offered on website if you find you need a new one.
Had the same problem after net connection was out nearly a day. After service was restored, my MJP ( not on pc) would not come back on. tried multiple times unplug- plug in, no dial tone but sounded like open line. Saw your post while searching a few days ago and contacted MJ. Well they just refused to listen (read the type). It works fine w/ pc but when I put it back on router, same problem.
How Do I convince the idiots to send me another one.
Anyone know the spec's on them Question I would love to see if I have a compatible usb/power device I can try before I drive myself insane before trying to talk/type to more Magic idiots.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Fire_Witch
MagicJack Contributor


Joined: 06 Jan 2010
Posts: 50
Location: a little north of Houston, TX

PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 9:43 pm    Post subject:

notdeadyet wrote:
check the power adapter for the MJ+....a lot of issues with it Sad free replacements being offered on website if you find you need a new one.
Sorry, forgot to ask if you have a link to that offer. I looked all over and didn't see anything about a replacement.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
notdeadyet
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 23 Dec 2009
Posts: 187
Location: Southern Ontario

PostPosted: Fri Apr 19, 2013 12:21 am    Post subject:

I know about it from reading posts on site here.....I believe it was just a matter of asking customer service for one when you call in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fire_Witch
MagicJack Contributor


Joined: 06 Jan 2010
Posts: 50
Location: a little north of Houston, TX

PostPosted: Fri Apr 19, 2013 2:44 pm    Post subject:

my problem is resolved. Today I received a new rj45 cat6 3ft cable I had ordered,and replaced the original cheep cable that came w/ the MJ+. Working great now. I have dial tone and good audio during calls.

But I I would love to see if I have a compatible usb/power device I can try, so I will have a backup if it fails. My vision is blurry due to MS. So if any one can read the specs off of there's and post it, I assume it's printed on there, I cant tell.
EDITED: NEVER MIND, I just decided to try one, a (spare) generic usb power supply for my Samsung Note 10.1. It works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mberlant
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 01 Feb 2009
Posts: 829
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Fri Apr 19, 2013 10:43 pm    Post subject:

As you have already discovered, just about any USB power supply should make the MJ+ happy. If you were to buy one now, I would recommend one that can deliver at least 1A.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    magicJack and magicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks -> magicJack Plus Support All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB Ultra Turbo Extended Edition Live © 2001-9999, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.