magicJack and MagicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks Forum Index magicJack and MagicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks
magicJack and magicJack Plus Unofficial Technical Support. Your Magic Jack and Magic Jack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
MAGICBEANS™ - More Magic For Your Jack™ - The Original
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 14, 15, 16, 17  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    magicJack and MagicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks Forum Index -> magicJack related items For Sale / Wanted
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
crackerjack
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 16 Nov 2007
Posts: 784

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darkman90808 wrote:
Quote:
I assume:
1) CID for MOM gets carried through the forward to GV.


CID *does* get carried through to GV. (Hmmm... I'll have to test that again, but my fallible memory tells me it does. I tested it when you could still spoof, using the MJ.)

Also, I use a product called MagiCall by Mobiion on my cellphone to automatically route calls to VM. It's a little spendy, IMO @24.95, but I finally pulled the trigger. It's robust, solid and does way more than I'll ever need, but it works fine, as long as the person calling uses the same phone/number all the time. This way, however, you don't need Google Voice.

Also, it keeps your cell phone from ringing in the first place, which is the reason I bought it.


Provided the OP has a Windows Mobile cell phone...
_________________
Good Luck

CrackerJack

MagicJack Customer #73
MagicJack user since May 2007
MagicJack abuser since June 2007
"I gots mo' numbers than a Lotto machine!!!"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Google
AdSense





PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 6:19 pm    Post subject: Magicjack support, tips, tricks, and hacks

Back to top
sabresfan
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 12 Feb 2009
Posts: 673
Location: Buffalo NY

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you need to block your mom that bad I have a few extra google voice invites. Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vdot
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 15 Jun 2008
Posts: 159
Location: U.S.A. (GMT-6)

PostPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

joe123 wrote:
Vdot, any chance of creating a MagicBean software for the TK6000? Very Happy

Not sure if it can be done and I realize that I would have to have my PC up to run your software.

Thanks,
Joe

Sorry for the late response, Joe...No. Smile
Well, I wouldn't ever say *no* chance, but about 1 in 6000 chance maybe. Wink
_________________
PM or Contact @
http://www.elkrivergroup.com/communications.php
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tom_S
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 07 Nov 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Nov 07, 2009 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't see anything magic about his setup. I bought it and received no license code to activate it. I called their support number. No answer..I left a voicemail message for unknown parties. I have emailed their support too many times.

I am not fond of being ripped off so if who ever deals with the junkbeans is using this forum? I asked nicely for a refund in my last email to you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
javaguy216
MagicJack User


Joined: 12 Jun 2008
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sat Nov 07, 2009 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tom_S wrote:
I don't see anything magic about his setup. I bought it and received no license code to activate it. I called their support number. No answer..I left a voicemail message for unknown parties. I have emailed their support too many times.

I am not fond of being ripped off so if who ever deals with the junkbeans is using this forum? I asked nicely for a refund in my last email to you.


You can always pick up the phone and contact your credit card institution. File for a charge-back if you feel product was not delivered as promised.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vdot
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 15 Jun 2008
Posts: 159
Location: U.S.A. (GMT-6)

PostPosted: Sat Nov 07, 2009 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tom_S wrote:
I don't see anything magic about his setup. I bought it and received no license code to activate it. I called their support number. No answer..I left a voicemail message for unknown parties. I have emailed their support too many times.

I am not fond of being ripped off so if who ever deals with the junkbeans is using this forum? I asked nicely for a refund in my last email to you.


Dear Sir, You purchased the software at 8:06am CST on Saturday morning.
You proceeded to send 3 emails and a phone call by 9:22am.
I was still sleeping, having been up at 3am working on MagicBeans.
I tried reaching the phone number you had given to paypal (at ~10:15am).
It was "out of service." I tried your magicJack number numerous times
by 10:30am, with it either going dead or straight to voicemail.
I had the product ready to send your license code by 10:15am.

Most companies would not be able to reply to you before Monday at the
soonest. We are sorry for your experiencing a problem during licensing,
and your two-hour wait for a response to your emails and voicemails.

-vdot
_________________
PM or Contact @
http://www.elkrivergroup.com/communications.php


Last edited by vdot on Sat Nov 07, 2009 1:30 pm; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tom_S
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 07 Nov 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Nov 07, 2009 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This product has been supported. I stand corrected.

I received a personal phone call with the very best support. I apologize for my hastiness in presuming non-support of a great product.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
good4life
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does MagicBeans (MB) work on thin clients and if so, what type of footprint does it require? Conversely, is there a minimum memory capacity that you would recommend for MB?

Also, if I have MB set to forward my voicemail to my GoogleVoice # and have a power outage will my MJ voicemails still go to my Google Voice or does my PC/Thin Client have to be on?

Answers will determine if I become a MB customer or not so I thank you in advance for your response.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kanis
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 12:15 pm    Post subject: Magic Bean Call Block Feature Issue Reply with quote

I have Magic Bean and have an issue with the Call Block. The phone still rings even if number is the call block listing. The call is still blocked and person calling gets nothing even if I pick up the phone the call is not connected (Which is good - since I don't check the caller id all the tiem when I answer phone) Seems the Blocked number will get in 3 rings on my phone and seems the Magic bean catches it but phone still rings which is a nuisance.

I have magic bean setup I have Block via Caller Id set but the have the send to voicemail unchecked. I am using Vista. CPU setting is set to 5. The funny thing is that if I put the Send to Voice mail as checked then I do nto get any phone rings and they goto my voicemail. (But I do not want this - I want the feature to work as it is intended to do)

Any help would be great. TY
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vdot
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 15 Jun 2008
Posts: 159
Location: U.S.A. (GMT-6)

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:08 pm    Post subject: Re: Magic Bean Call Block Feature Issue Reply with quote

kanis wrote:
I have Magic Bean and have an issue with the Call Block. The phone still rings even if number is the call block listing. The call is still blocked and person calling gets nothing even if I pick up the phone the call is not connected (Which is good - since I don't check the caller id all the tiem when I answer phone) Seems the Blocked number will get in 3 rings on my phone and seems the Magic bean catches it but phone still rings which is a nuisance.

I have magic bean setup I have Block via Caller Id set but the have the send to voicemail unchecked. I am using Vista. CPU setting is set to 5. The funny thing is that if I put the Send to Voice mail as checked then I do nto get any phone rings and they goto my voicemail. (But I do not want this - I want the feature to work as it is intended to do)

Any help would be great. TY

Hi Kanis,
Sorry for not getting back sooner, but I don't check the forum all the time
anymore, since I'm pretty busy with everything, and sometimes it doesn't
inform me of new messages for some reason. That was the case here.
Anyway, this forum is not the preferred method for support questions to
reach me, as it isn't my forum. (I hope to have a forum for MagicBeans
at some point, but don't yet). The best way to reach me is via email or
phone, which is found on the website
(http://www.magicjackbeans.com/help.php).

To answer your question briefly, this issue is probably a result of the
responsiveness of your machine (at the moment in time). As you know,
this could be for many, many reasons.

If you email me, I can send you a list of some tips to help improve this,
or if you have much experience, you probably already know ways to
improve real-time responsiveness on your own. Actually, the fact that
it is sending to vmail quickly but not doing the hang-up thing quickly is
probably coincidence, and indicates that there may be some process(es)
that are sporadically causing processing (or disk) to be active at the time
MagicBeans needs to respond. The reason I say this is that the logic is
fairly the same for both ways of handling the call. One thing that may
cause this situation is disk-swapping, which you could improve by adding
memory. Another thing that could cause this is a meddling anti-malware
program. Some versions of McAfee seem to be good at causing issues,
for example.

Anyway, feel free to contact me via email or phone if you still need any
help!

@Good4Life - You, too...Sorry for the non-response. I didn't get
notified of your post. Also please contact via email and/or
phone...Thanks.
_________________
PM or Contact @
http://www.elkrivergroup.com/communications.php
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alleytom
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 27 Sep 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 1:14 am    Post subject: magicbeans and thin client Reply with quote

I finally got magicbeans working on a wyse thin client, I had to add a hard drive though and do a regular install of winXP. I'll give it a week or so to see how it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vdot
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 15 Jun 2008
Posts: 159
Location: U.S.A. (GMT-6)

PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 1:27 am    Post subject: Re: magicbeans and thin client Reply with quote

Alleytom wrote:
I finally got magicbeans working on a wyse thin client, I had to add a hard drive though and do a regular install of winXP. I'll give it a week or so to see how it works.


Tom,

Is there a built-in mail client on XPe? If so, do you know what API it uses
to send (SMTP)? If there is a resident API in XPe that will allow me to send
email, I could write a program (for XPe-based thin clients) that would
allow licensing of MagicBeans. Then running MagicBeans should work
without the need for the hard drive & regular XP install.

-vdot
_________________
PM or Contact @
http://www.elkrivergroup.com/communications.php
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alleytom
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 27 Sep 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 12:26 pm    Post subject: magicbeans on thin client Reply with quote

I don't believe there's an email client, I had tried earlier to get magicbeans to work on it but that was the stopping point. I tried the MS XPe SP2 download also without any success. You can download the thin client programs (they call it firmware) that are on mine (Wyse 941GXL) here:

http://www.wyse.com/serviceandsupport/support/dlOraFW.asp?which=52&model=941G

If you can come up with any ideas I'll put the flash card back in and test it out.

The other issue I'm having is the number of rings setting doesn't seem to work, could it be a processor issue? The thin term has a VIA 1gig CPU with 512mb Ram. It has a 20gig laptop hard drive, WinXP and nothing else on it to slow it down.

Tom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vdot
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 15 Jun 2008
Posts: 159
Location: U.S.A. (GMT-6)

PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 3:02 pm    Post subject: Re: magicbeans on thin client Reply with quote

Alleytom wrote:
I don't believe there's an email client, I had tried earlier to get magicbeans to work on it but that was the stopping point. I tried the MS XPe SP2 download also without any success. You can download the thin client programs (they call it firmware) that are on mine (Wyse 941GXL) here:

http://www.wyse.com/serviceandsupport/support/dlOraFW.asp?which=52&model=941G

If you can come up with any ideas I'll put the flash card back in and test it out.

The other issue I'm having is the number of rings setting doesn't seem to work, could it be a processor issue? The thin term has a VIA 1gig CPU with 512mb Ram. It has a 20gig laptop hard drive, WinXP and nothing else on it to slow it down.

Tom


If you contact me via support (email or phone) I can help you with that.
Doesn't sound like it would be a responsiveness issue, though 512mb is
marginal on a regular machine... I don't know much about the VIA CPUs.
All I'm familier with them is from older boards and cheaper "soldered-in"
desktop motherboards and the like. For all I know,though, their "comfort
zone" may just be on thin clients.

Anyway, buzz or email my support contacts, and I'll try to help you.
_________________
PM or Contact @
http://www.elkrivergroup.com/communications.php
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alpman
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 03 Sep 2008
Posts: 260
Location: Sierra Nevada Foothills - Frogtown, Ca

PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your TC doesn't have a mail client (Outlook Express) by default you could install Windows Live Mail or Thinderbird if you have the room on your flash and it should do the trick. This is another advantage of a custom build home brew XPe image, you can add whatever components you want to the image, including OE. All of my XPe TC's that use the 4GB MicroDrive have OE installed. Hope this helps...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    magicJack and MagicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks Forum Index -> magicJack related items For Sale / Wanted All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 14, 15, 16, 17  Next
Page 15 of 17

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB Turbo Extended Edition © 2013, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.