magicJack and MagicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks Forum Index magicJack and MagicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks
magicJack and magicJack Plus Unofficial Technical Support. Your Magic Jack and Magic Jack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
DO NOT USE DONGLE IF YOU DONT HAVE TO!!
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    magicJack and MagicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks Forum Index -> magicJack Tips, Tricks, and Hacks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Spider210
MagicJack Expert


Joined: 06 Dec 2008
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 6:22 pm    Post subject: DO NOT USE DONGLE IF YOU DONT HAVE TO!! Reply with quote

Like the topic says if you do not currently use your dongle and use your sip info with ata or pbx DO NOT PLUG IN DONGLE

forced updates are being pushed to clients, when the update is done your client randomly generates passwords each time it is connected.

If you update your client your SIP info will NO longer work!!!

Until something is figured out DO NOT UPDATE!!!!

You have been warned!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Google
AdSense





PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 6:22 pm    Post subject: Magicjack support, tips, tricks, and hacks

Back to top
SteveInWa
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 09 Feb 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's odd. I have been using MJ via an ATA for a couple years now, first standalone, and now through a MJMD5 proxy. Against my better judgment, I let curiosity win out, powered down my ATA and proxy, and I plugged in my MJ dongle the day after the new version of the software came out. I plugged it into a Windows 7 machine that had never had MJ installed. It did it's lucky you thing, downloaded and installed and worked with the new software. I uninstalled it, put it back in the drawer, and powered up my proxy and ATA. The ATA still works with the old password. And, BTW, I have NEVER entered a user agent string, either.

YMMV, but for me, I have NEVER had my SIP password change, despite several years of use. Just curious: maybe those continuously changing PWs you are seeing are not your actual SIP PW, but are used for something else.

Update: well, like most ATA users, I spoke too soon. On Monday, 8/30, mine stopped registering via MJMD5 proxy. IMO, since the new software changes the SIP password every time the client registers with the host, MJ use via ATA is history.


Last edited by SteveInWa on Wed Sep 01, 2010 7:16 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genxweb
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 257

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Steve I wonder if you got the update I got yesterday where it still worked.

Though in spider defense

I just worked with spider for the last few hours this is what i have found.

1. proxy01 is still used in the tcpdumps
2. User name is still E######01 from the tcpdumps
3. The password changes each time you plug the magic jack in. I believe this is creating a new password on each use. There are a few sites I see it connect to that I have never seen it connect to before. The first attempt by the jack to register fails. then there is a hello packets and shortly after it seems to try to register again. The goal would to be to guess or figure out the next password that would be assigned to your jack and use that. the issue in this is any time you shutdown your proxy it will be needed again.

I strongly suggest that those that are using the service without the jacks , don't plug in any time soon. Hopefully some one out there will figure a way around this. Though I am guessing unless there is real need or motivation it will be some time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
neo2121
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 09 Jan 2008
Posts: 282

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

its not only if you use the dongle even if you send a request to the provisioning server. I'm sure that the math will get figured out eventually. or maybe not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
genxweb
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 257

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

neo2121 wrote:
its not only if you use the dongle even if you send a request to the provisioning server. I'm sure that the math will get figured out eventually. or maybe not.


I just sent a request to it and nothing negative happened that I can tell my pbx is still working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Spider210
MagicJack Expert


Joined: 06 Dec 2008
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dunno why i got screwed with this crap
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crackerjack
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 16 Nov 2007
Posts: 784

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 10:33 pm    Post subject: Re: DO NOT USE DONGLE IF YOU DONT HAVE TO!! Reply with quote

Spider210 wrote:

You have been warned!

I know you made this quote with the best of intentions and I honestly believe you are having an issue. Please refrain from engendering FUD to the general public based on your unique situation that has not been reported by any other reliable witness. There is enough speculation and harum-scarum being disseminated along with verifiable, repeatable changes. We would rather have time and resources applied to the verifiable issues.
Chalk up your issue to sunspots, bad ram or a wonky power supply but please stop crying wolf based on your singular experience.
_________________
Good Luck

CrackerJack

MagicJack Customer #73
MagicJack user since May 2007
MagicJack abuser since June 2007
"I gots mo' numbers than a Lotto machine!!!"


Last edited by crackerjack on Thu Aug 26, 2010 10:40 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neo2121
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 09 Jan 2008
Posts: 282

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I meant obtaining your SIP info with out doing a dump or using the dongle.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
genxweb
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 257

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 11:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am just as confused as the next person on this crazy hipe spreading. After working with spider210. I retrieved and tested 4 other jacks tonight with no problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sabresfan
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 12 Feb 2009
Posts: 673
Location: Buffalo NY

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 1:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm in the same boat as spider. I have two MJ's one that's been updated and one that's not. The one that's been updated gets a different password with every dump I do now. The one that's not updated continues to work with it's present sip credentials and mjmd5.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spider210
MagicJack Expert


Joined: 06 Dec 2008
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:46 pm    Post subject: Re: DO NOT USE DONGLE IF YOU DONT HAVE TO!! Reply with quote

crackerjack wrote:

I know you made this quote with the best of intentions and I honestly believe you are having an issue. Please refrain from engendering FUD to the general public based on your unique situation that has not been reported by any other reliable witness. There is enough speculation and harum-scarum being disseminated along with verifiable, repeatable changes. We would rather have time and resources applied to the verifiable issues.
Chalk up your issue to sunspots, bad ram or a wonky power supply but please stop crying wolf based on your singular
experience.



Thanks but no thanks to your input. This has been verified and well if you and others have not received this update its only going to be a matter of time before everyone gets pushed this update. This is also on old hardware too, original mj. So just because you have yet to experience it doesn't mean this is a solitary case. So next time, we hope your input will be more helpful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arcadia2uk
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree with you Spider, but definitely not with your wording..., it is a real issue. Let's just hope that it doesn't affect everyone. I still have one of my MJ numbers that can run w/o MJMD5:), but on another I received the latest update and can no longer use it with MJMD5, luckily I have a few spares.
arc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SharpShot
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Completely unable to get ahold of my SIP info. Used all available programs/methods, a different password is returned each time and all don't seem to work with X-lite (401 unauthorized). Just renewed a few days ago and received an update on my MJ (8/15/2010).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spider210
MagicJack Expert


Joined: 06 Dec 2008
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SharpShot wrote:
Completely unable to get ahold of my SIP info. Used all available programs/methods, a different password is returned each time and all don't seem to work with X-lite (401 unauthorized). Just renewed a few days ago and received an update on my MJ (8/15/2010).



Another victim...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mesamagic
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 31 May 2009
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just found out that, after the unwelcome " lucky you " updated to my dongle this week which made my PAP2T unregistered, and my MJ has changed it's password every time I plugged it in for 2 days, today I use my old password again ( i.e the password I used before the Aug update ) and my PAP2T works as if nothing's ever happened.

The weird thing is, my dongle is now can not register, it keeps saying " waiting for configure..." and stuck there.

Try it for yourself, and if it works for you, consider " Lucky You " this time.

YMMV

Danny
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    magicJack and MagicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks Forum Index -> magicJack Tips, Tricks, and Hacks All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 1 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB Turbo Extended Edition © 2013, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.