magicJack  and magicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks Forum Index

magicJack and magicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks

magicJack and magicJack Plus Unofficial Technical Support. Your Magic Jack and Magic Jack Plus phone service information resource

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Bandwidth Management to address delays?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    magicJack and magicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks Forum Index -> Magic Jack Technical Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
corchard
MagicJack Newbie

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 1:43 am    Post subject: Bandwidth Management to address delays? Reply with quote

I'm new to this whole technology, but I am technical.

I live in Canada, and am getting .5-1 second delays when speaking. There is no echo, so you end up talking over each other.

I am on a high bandwidth cable (Shaw Internet) but have several other systems and applications that sporadically use the pipe and wonder if a bandwidth manager will help. Moreover if anyone knows of a suitable manager if at all for use with the MagicJack.

your thoughts are appreciated.

Chris
HolmanGT
MagicJack Sensei

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 3:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

corchard,

I would think a manager would NOT help much and the delay is most likely not on your end but some server you are going thru. Do you have this problem all the time?

The MJ uses such a small amount of bandwidth ... I think about 80 kHz which is like nothing. The only way in my humble opinion that it could be on your end if whatever it is that you say kicks on from time to time is a real bandwidth hog.