magicJack  and magicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks

magicJack and magicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks

magicJack and magicJack Plus Unofficial Technical Support. Your Magic Jack and Magic Jack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
*67 Trick Doesn't work with December 17th Version of update

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    magicJack and magicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks -> Magic Jack Technical Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DonMan
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 07 Aug 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 2:59 am    Post subject: *67 Trick Doesn't work with December 17th Version of update

There are certain numbers that I haven't been able to call. I have opened up numerous Tech Support chats on the issue with no results. However the *67 trick has always been a work around. You know the deal for number (123) 456-7890 you dial *671*23 456-7890. Then the call goes through. After upgrading to version 1.80.4663.3272, I get a recording stating that I have reached the Y-Max test number and my call was successful Rolling Eyes . I rolled back to version 1.80.4512.3155 and I can once again use the *67 trick for number that don't work otherwise.

Also it appears that the new version is now posted on the main MJ download page.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
emiliomcol
MagicJack Expert


Joined: 05 Dec 2008
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 11:04 am    Post subject:

DonMan i have the same problem but i found out trying and work fine for me that work in this way for example dial 3*05-555-5555 and that should work ok at least for fine work perfect because the other way *673*05-555-5555 i get the same message than you so i hope it work for you post the result to see if this work on U too
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
az2008
MagicJack Sensei


Joined: 20 Aug 2008
Posts: 1404
Location: Tempe, AZ

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 11:43 am    Post subject:

emiliomcol wrote:
DonMan i have the same problem but i found out trying and work fine for me that work in this way for example dial 3*05-555-5555 and that should work ok at least for fine work perfect because the other way *673*05-555-5555 i get the same message than you so i hope it work for you post the result to see if this work on U too


Can others confirm whether Emili's solution works? Put an * after the first number dialed, followed by the remaining numbers? This is purported to fix echo problems and/or the problem where you can't dial a number(?).

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hsweiss
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 28 Mar 2008
Posts: 563
Location: Maryland

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 3:02 pm    Post subject:

The *67 was really to fake out the need for a * after the 1st digit of the area code. However, at least on the previous versions, you could not dial it that way, but interestingly, if you saved a *677*18-xxx-xxxx number it would show up in the contacts as 7*18-xxx-xxxx. Maybe they've "fixed" this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DonMan
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 07 Aug 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 11:18 pm    Post subject:

Yes, that works. Thanks!

Now I hope they resolve the 30 minute limit thing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
emiliomcol
MagicJack Expert


Joined: 05 Dec 2008
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 11:54 pm    Post subject:

i was having the 30 minutes limit too but rigth know looks like the problem fix because i make a few calls over 30 minutes with no dropoff let see if dosnt happen anymore Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DonMan
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 07 Aug 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 2:00 am    Post subject:

I just made a call and it was terminated at exactly 30 minutes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gregg
MagicJack User


Joined: 15 Nov 2007
Posts: 32
Location: New Mexico

PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 9:22 am    Post subject:

hsweiss wrote:
The *67 was really to fake out the need for a * after the 1st digit of the area code. However, at least on the previous versions, you could not dial it that way, but interestingly, if you saved a *677*18-xxx-xxxx number it would show up in the contacts as 7*18-xxx-xxxx. Maybe they've "fixed" this?

I believe this is the MJ dial pattern...
Code:

<DialPlanPattern>
 <Strip validChars="0123456789*#"/>
 <DialIfMatch pattern="^1([0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*])$" replaceBy="\\1" /><Strip />
 <DialIfMatch pattern="^[2-9][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*]$" />
 <DialIfMatch pattern="^00[0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*]$" />
 <DialIfMatch pattern="^0[2-9][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*]$" />
 <DialIfMatch pattern="^010[0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*]$" />
 <DialIfMatch pattern="^01[2-9][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*]$" />
 <Dial afterTimeout="1" timeout="5000" />
</DialPlanPattern>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
emiliomcol
MagicJack Expert


Joined: 05 Dec 2008
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 11:11 am    Post subject:

yesterday a made a few calls and no dropoff but now im having againg the cut at 30 minutes Evil or Very Mad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hsweiss
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 28 Mar 2008
Posts: 563
Location: Maryland

PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 1:25 pm    Post subject:

Gregg wrote:
hsweiss wrote:
The *67 was really to fake out the need for a * after the 1st digit of the area code. However, at least on the previous versions, you could not dial it that way, but interestingly, if you saved a *677*18-xxx-xxxx number it would show up in the contacts as 7*18-xxx-xxxx. Maybe they've "fixed" this?

I believe this is the MJ dial pattern...
Code:

<DialPlanPattern>
 <Strip validChars="0123456789*#"/>
 <DialIfMatch pattern="^1([0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*])$" replaceBy="\\1" /><Strip />
 <DialIfMatch pattern="^[2-9][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*]$" />
 <DialIfMatch pattern="^00[0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*]$" />
 <DialIfMatch pattern="^0[2-9][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*]$" />
 <DialIfMatch pattern="^010[0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*]$" />
 <DialIfMatch pattern="^01[2-9][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*][0-9#*]$" />
 <Dial afterTimeout="1" timeout="5000" />
</DialPlanPattern>


Dare I ask what tool you are using to reverse engineer the code??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
az2008
MagicJack Sensei


Joined: 20 Aug 2008
Posts: 1404
Location: Tempe, AZ

PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 1:28 pm    Post subject:

hsweiss wrote:
Dare I ask what tool you are using to reverse engineer the code??


Probably pmdump. I haven't used it. But, it's supposed to reveal information like this.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kumar
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 15 Nov 2007
Posts: 806

PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 1:29 pm    Post subject:

Also.. using the built in memory dumper in vista works better...
Kumar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
souledge
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 14 Dec 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 1:07 am    Post subject:

The add a * method such as 3*05-555-5555 doesn't work when i dial from a phone, the message always tells me that the number is not complete.

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
az2008
MagicJack Sensei


Joined: 20 Aug 2008
Posts: 1404
Location: Tempe, AZ

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 1:13 am    Post subject:

souledge wrote:
The add a * method such as 3*05-555-5555 doesn't work when i dial from a phone, the message always tells me that the number is not complete.


Look at your "calls" list. Is the number complete or missing the last digit?

Someone said you have to enter it as you did, let it fail, then pull it up by clicking on the "calls" list, add the last digit, click send.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
souledge
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 14 Dec 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 1:18 am    Post subject:

Thanks for the tip!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JohnnyFreightTRAIN
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 08 Aug 2008
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 10:20 am    Post subject:

az2008 wrote:
souledge wrote:
The add a * method such as 3*05-555-5555 doesn't work when i dial from a phone, the message always tells me that the number is not complete.


Look at your "calls" list. Is the number complete or missing the last digit?

Someone said you have to enter it as you did, let it fail, then pull it up by clicking on the "calls" list, add the last digit, click send.

Mark


That works!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TreasureGift
MagicJack User


Joined: 16 Apr 2008
Posts: 39
Location: On a mountain side in the high desert of far West Texas

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:14 pm    Post subject:

Yeah, the *67*xxx-xxx-xxxx stopped working for me as well, it goes to the y-max thing. I tried dialing 8*17-xxx-xxxx using the phone, it seemed to not dial the last number, if I did it with the soft phone, it works. I only have one phone number that gives me this trouble, but it's a number I call frequently.

I just went into the contact list and changed the phone number to 8*17-xxx-xxxx and now it works.

I do wish MJ would get this problem fixed, it's quite annoying that I can't pick up the phone and DIAL the number using the phone.

One thing I found that helps though is a 3rd party website that lets you call long distance numbers free (I know, it's free using MJ, but if you have trouble dialing a number for any reason, you can use this too)

http://labs.jaduka.com/dukadial/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JohnnyFreightTRAIN
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 08 Aug 2008
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2009 8:14 am    Post subject:

TreasureGift wrote:
Yeah, the *67*xxx-xxx-xxxx stopped working for me as well, it goes to the y-max thing. I tried dialing 8*17-xxx-xxxx using the phone, it seemed to not dial the last number, if I did it with the soft phone, it works. I only have one phone number that gives me this trouble, but it's a number I call frequently.

I just went into the contact list and changed the phone number to 8*17-xxx-xxxx and now it works.

I do wish MJ would get this problem fixed, it's quite annoying that I can't pick up the phone and DIAL the number using the phone.

One thing I found that helps though is a 3rd party website that lets you call long distance numbers free (I know, it's free using MJ, but if you have trouble dialing a number for any reason, you can use this too)

http://labs.jaduka.com/dukadial/


The great thing about using dukaDIAL with magicjack is it's an incoming call. So it doesn't count toward "excessive usage" and it doesn't cut off after an hour. Smile
It's also great for spreading your usage over rather then buying two billion magicjacks, and good for making "three-way calls" with your magicjack (3way calls only work with incoming calls).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JOHN777
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 05 Mar 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 10:53 am    Post subject:

So is/are there still no way to block outgoing calls with magicjack?

Honestly, this thing is annoying...i mean its like i literally just bought myself $70 (CAD) of annoyance..why can't one block the CID for outgoing calls?

If anyone knows which methods works please let us know. thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mberlant
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 01 Feb 2009
Posts: 829
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 7:53 pm    Post subject:

There is no way to modify the behaviour of MJ's servers. MJ is by far the least expensive full service VoIP service in the market, and the price is so low precisely because they permit nobody to modify anything. You are welcome to subscribe to services that cost you C$35 per month if you want features like this. Vote with your pocketbook.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    magicJack and magicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks -> Magic Jack Technical Support All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB Ultra Turbo Extended Edition Live © 2001-9999, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.