magicJack and MagicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks Forum Index magicJack and MagicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks
magicJack and magicJack Plus Unofficial Technical Support. Your Magic Jack and Magic Jack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Can't hear outgoing calls but receiver's phone does ring.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    magicJack and MagicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks Forum Index -> Magic Jack Technical Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lunavic50
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 01 Feb 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you guys might want to try this....

Ive made 4 calls and all is well so hopefully this guy nailed it... Its late here so I cant pester anyone else to see if its really fixed... but so far so good


I talked to a tech and I seem to be all fixed up

heres what he said

---------------

Chat InformationPlease wait for a site operator to respond.

Chat InformationYou are now chatting with 'Lex'

Lex: Hello, how may I help you?

Victor: hi

Lex: Hi Victor

Victor: I think that your latest update has caused an issue with many users of magic jack

Victor: http://www.phoneservicesupport.com/technical-support-f7.html

Victor: many having the same prob that started at the same time

Victor: cant hear the caller but they can hear me

Victor: and ive tried everything

Victor: are you guys getting alot of this sorta complaint?

Lex: I see.

Victor: I mean its like 4 out of 5 calls this happens when yesterday everything was fine

Lex: May I have your magicjack phone number please?

Victor: xxx*xxx*xxxx

Lex: Thank you for that information.

Lex: One moment please...

Lex: Thank you for holding Victor.

Victor: no prob

Lex: Are you also experiencing the same problem as of the moment?

Victor: yes

Victor: started yesterday

Lex: Okay.

Lex: Did you run the upgrade yesterday?

Victor: yes

Lex: I see.

Lex: You are on xp right?

Victor: yes

Lex: okay.

Lex: Click Start

Lex: Click Control Panel

Lex: f your Control Panel is in Category View, double-click Sounds, Speech and Audio Devices

Lex: f not, go directly to the step 4

Victor: okay im in sounds and audio device properties

Lex: Double Click on Sounds and Audio Devices

Lex: Click the Audio tab (the middle one)

Lex: Under both Sound Playback and Sound Recording, select your default audio device (the one you want to use) from the drop down menu

Lex: Click the box labeled Use Only Default Device" (located in the bottom left corner of the window)

Lex: Click Apply and OK

Victor: ok

Lex: Is it done now?

Victor: yes

Lex: Okay Please restart your magicjack. On your dial pad click on Menu>advanced Users>>Restart.

Victor: well the good news is that before I restarted it I made 2 calls and all was well both times

Victor: just restarted so Ill try and call someone else

Lex: Please do.

Victor: well its 11:30 pm where I am but I got to tell I just bothered someone else and it worked fine

Victor: wow I guess you have to find the right tech lol

Lex: That's great

Victor: your like #3 today

Lex: Is there anything else I may help you with today?

Victor: Ill spread the word

Victor: no thanks and... thanks alot

Lex: Thank you for the compliment.

Lex: Thank you for stopping by to chat, I hope I did a good job at addressing your concerns. Please take a second to answer a one question survey about the service I provided. Please click the "close" button on the top right of this screen and the survey will appear. Thanks again!

Lex: Have a wonderful evening.

Lex: Please click the "close" button on the top right of this screen and the survey wil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Google
AdSense





PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 11:49 pm    Post subject: Magicjack support, tips, tricks, and hacks


Back to top
stmay
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 16 Sep 2008
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lunavic50 wrote:
I think its a bit uncanny that theres allready 3 threads 2 of which started today with people pileing up with the same exact problem.... Ive tried everything possible. and I mean everything... Its my opinion this is a update prob... a bug on their end

too many people at the same time having the ecaxt same prob


Yeah, I'm going to give up troubleshooting this on my end. I started having problems last night even with the computer plugged directly into the cable modem. It's got to be a problem on their end. There doesn't seem to be a rhyme or reason for any of the issues.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lunavic50
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 01 Feb 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well Ive made several phone calls today and to my surprise I think the tech in my above post nailed it.. I am once again somewhat happy with my magic jack. I strongly suggest people to follow what the almighty Lex suggests...

Its now working ..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MeDiCo_BrUjO
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jan 2008
Posts: 19
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lunavic50 wrote:
well Ive made several phone calls today and to my surprise I think the tech in my above post nailed it.. I am once again somewhat happy with my magic jack. I strongly suggest people to follow what the almighty Lex suggests...

Its now working ..


Didn't work for me, sorry.

I have 4 computers in the house and it behaves like that in each one of them.

Two computers have Vista and there's no option to perform those steps in that OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
lunavic50
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 01 Feb 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Windows Vista:
1. Go to Start > Control Panel
2. In Control Panel, select the option that says Hardware and Sound
3. Under the listing for Sound, select Manage Audio Devices
4. Under Recording and Sounds tabs, you will find all available devices. To set a default device, right click on one of them and select Set as Default Device.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lida
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 2:01 pm    Post subject: from tech Reply with quote

Please wait for a site operator to respond.

Chat InformationAll operators are currently assisting others. Thanks for your patience. An operator will be with you shortly.

Chat InformationYou are now chatting with 'Ethel'

Ethel: Hello, how may I help you?

dan: HelloMy phone is not working I can not hear the person on the other end. I have win xp

Ethel: Hello Dan ,how are you?

dan: busy did you read my question

Ethel: Yes, Dan.

Ethel: I apologize for the inconvenience. Let me assist you with that.

Ethel: May I have your magicJack number, please?

dan: 713

Ethel: Thank you,.

Ethel: Please wait while I check that for you

Ethel: Is your magicJack plugged in the USB port at the back of your tower/unit?

dan: yes

Ethel: Do you have your dial pad on your screen?

dan: yes

Ethel: Please go to Menu and then click on Advanced User and then click on Restart.

dan: i have done that 3 times so far in the last 30 minutes. there are many people with mj that are having the same problem this is on your end and needs to be fixed i have another mj that is doing the same thing

Ethel: I do apologize for the inconvenience, Dan.

Ethel: We are doing some upgrades, our engineers are working to get them completed as fast as possible. We apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate your patience.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stmay
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 16 Sep 2008
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Doing upgrades, huh? For a week. This problem started for me last Thursday and I continue to get more ticked each day. My mom's MJ is now not working at all either. We are both in Columbus.

On a positive note the weather is a lot better so i don't have to completely freeze when I have to go outside to make a phone call on my cell phone. Surprised
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gaftop1
MagicJack User


Joined: 17 Apr 2008
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

unplugged magicjack, start,search, all files and folders, magicjack, deleted all found, replugged magicjack.
don't know if it's coincidence or not but it works now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rclakeanna
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 05 Mar 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 9:05 pm    Post subject: Can't hear outgoing calls but receiver's phone does ring. Reply with quote

It seems like the mute is on, can hear dial tone but when I call out it seems to go dead?? I have had th MJ for about 6 months without any major problems but now I cannot use it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MeDiCo_BrUjO
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jan 2008
Posts: 19
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 10:06 pm    Post subject: Re: Can't hear outgoing calls but receiver's phone does ring Reply with quote

rclakeanna wrote:
It seems like the mute is on, can hear dial tone but when I call out it seems to go dead?? I have had th MJ for about 6 months without any major problems but now I cannot use it.


If it was the mute function then you would be able to hear the other end but they wouldn't be able to hear you. This problem is backwards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Mimon
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 03 Feb 2009
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 3:19 am    Post subject: DITTO Reply with quote

same problem here too,around the same time frame as the others,dialing&redialing multiple times and maybe around the 20th attempt it might ring to the PH# i tried to dial,
I don't even bother to use their "tech support" either since they are a bunch of nitwits . I tried most of the suggestions here,and none of them worked,I too am also convinced it's on or in their infrastructure as well .


Last edited by Mimon on Fri Mar 06, 2009 6:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
az2008
MagicJack Sensei


Joined: 20 Aug 2008
Posts: 1404
Location: Tempe, AZ

PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 1:25 pm    Post subject: Re: DITTO Reply with quote

Mimon wrote:
I too am also convinced it's on or in their infrastructure as well .


I'm wondering if it's a deliberate tactic to shake out users (to reduce the oversold, overloaded condition). As has been mentioned before, Dan's brilliance is preselling what sounds like nirvana, and frequently proves to be a nightmare. He clearly states there are no refunds. Therefore, Dan has more incentive to get customers to leave than he does to stay.

Think about it. It's not like Dan has a reputation to protect. He's already shot his reputation to smithereens. Every indication from Dan is that he has absolutely no regard for his reputation. So, a bunch of unhappy customers would do what to his reputation that already hasn't been done?

If he gets a bunch of people to switch to Skype, all he's done is kept their money without having to deliver services.

Once those customers are shaken out, Dan gets to start the "It's as easy as 1-2-3..." routine.

Mark
_________________
See the MagicJack Wiki (FAQ, How-To, history and more).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snowbug
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 13 Jun 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 5:51 pm    Post subject: Same problem Reply with quote

I am having the same problem since several days ago. The mute might even happen in the middle of a conversation. This virtually render the service unusable. I was dial into a conference call and all the sudden I won't hear anything. And when I dial again, I hear nothing after punch in the numbers.

Restarting didn't work for me and I had to plug it into a different USB port. But the problem will come back after a random period of time.

I just made the change mentioned above by checking the "only use the default devices". So far so good, will see.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
newbie513
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 21 Aug 2008
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having better luck today, I'm running my MJ as a service and using a powered USB port but the key is to keep usb power adapter plugged up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wils0nc
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 03 Mar 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 1:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Everything seems to be working fine now without having to do anything. They may have fixed MJ. Is this true for anyone else???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    magicJack and MagicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks Forum Index -> Magic Jack Technical Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 4 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB Turbo Extended Edition © 2013, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.